ARRL Board of Directors Special Board Meeting August 26, 2020

Minutes

Agenda

- 1) Roll call and announcement that meeting is being recorded.
- 2) Election of Chief Executive Officer
- 3) Election of Secretary
- 4) Adjournment

1. Pursuant to due notice, the Board of Directors of the American Radio Relay League, Inc. met in annual session electronically via Zoom video and audio meeting hosting. The meeting was called to order at 8:05 PM EDT Wednesday, August 26, 2020 with President Rick Roderick, K5UR, in the Chair and the following Directors present:

Tom Abernethy, W3TOM, Atlantic Division Kermit Carlson, W9XA, Central Division Matt Holden, KØBBC, Dakota Division David Norris, K5UZ, Delta Division Dale Williams, WA8EFK, Great Lakes Division Ria Jairam, N2RJ, Hudson Division Rod Blocksome, KØDAS, Midwest Division Fred Hopengarten, K1VR, New England Division Mike Ritz, W7VO, Northwestern Division Jim Tiemstra, K6JAT, Pacific Division George "Bud" Hippisley, W2RU, Roanoke Division Jeff Ryan, KØRM, Rocky Mountain Division Mickey Baker, N4MB, Southeastern Division Dick Norton, N6AA, Southwestern Division John Robert Stratton, N5AUS, West Gulf Division

Also present without vote were: Mike Raisbeck, K1TWF, First Vice-President Robert Vallio, W6RGG, Second Vice-President Rod Stafford, W6ROD, International Affairs Vice-President Barry Shelley, N1VXY, Chief Executive Officer and Secretary Diane Middleton, W2DLM, Chief Financial Officer Frederick Niswander, K7GM, Treasurer

The following Vice Directors were also in attendance:

Robert Famiglio, K3RF, Atlantic Division Carl Luetzelschwab, K9LA, Central Division Lynn Nelson WØND, Dakota Division Ed Hudgens, WB4RHQ, Delta Division Thomas Delaney, W8WTD, Great Lakes Division Bill Hudzik, W2UDT, Hudson Division Art Zygielbaum, KØAIZ, Midwest Division Mark Tharp, KB7HDX, Northwestern Division Kristen McIntyre, K6WX, Pacific Division Bill Morine, N2COP, Roanoke Division Dan Grady, N2SRK, Rocky Mountain Division James Schilling, KG4JSZ, Southeastern Division Ned Stearns, AA7A, Southwestern Division

Vice Director Lee Cooper, W5LHC, was unable to attend. The New England Vice Director position is currently vacant.

2. Moved by Mr. Hippisley, seconded by Mr. Stratton, that David Minster, NA2AA, be elected to the position of Chief Executive Officer effective September 28, 2020. A discussion ensued with each Director given the opportunity to express his or her opinion.

Mr. Tiemstra moved, Mr. Baker seconded, to postpone the vote for approximately 2 weeks to allow for further discussion among Board members. After discussion, a roll call vote was requested. The motion failed by a vote of 5 AYE and 10 NAY. Messers. Hopengarten, Ritz, Tiemstra, Baker and Norton voting Aye and Ms. Jairam, and Messers. Abernethy, Carlson, Holden, Norris, Williams, Blocksome, Hippisley, Ryan and Stratton voting Nay.

After further discussion on the original motion, a roll call vote was requested. The motion was adopted 10 AYE and 5 NAY. Ms. Jairam, and Messers. Abernethy, Carlson, Holden, Norris, Williams, Blocksome, Hippisley, Ryan and Stratton voting Aye and Messers. Hopengarten, Ritz, Tiemstra, Baker and Norton voting Nay.

3. Mr. Carlson moved, Mr. Stratton seconded, that David Minster, NA2AA, be elected to the position of Secretary effective September 28, 2020. A roll call vote was requested, and the motion was adopted 11 AYE to 3 NAY with 1 ABSTENSION. Ms. Jairam and Messers. Abernethy, Carlson, Holden, Norris, Williams, Blocksome, Tiemstra, Hippisley, Ryan and Stratton voted Aye. Messers. Hopengarten, Ritz and Baker voted Nay. Mr. Norton abstained.

4. Mr. Roderick on behalf of the Board thanked Mr. Shelley for his many years of dedicated service to the League and Amateur Radio, and especially for returning to the CEO position again during this recent transition.

5. There being no further business, on the motion of Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Ryan, the meeting was adjourned by unanimous vote at 9:23 PM. Time in session: 1 hour 18 minutes.