Minutes of Special Meeting ARRL Board of Directors August 22, 2018

Agenda

- 1. Call meeting to order and roll call
- 2. Report on discussions with CEO candidate regarding start date and date to assume position of CEO
- 3. Motion to elect CEO
- 4. Adjournment
- 1. Pursuant to the written request of a majority of Directors in accordance with Bylaw 26, the Board of Directors of the American Radio Relay League, Inc. met in special session by Webinar at 9:04 PM EDT Wednesday, August 22, 2018 with President Rick Roderick, K5UR in the Chair and the following Directors present:

Tom Abernethy, W3TOM, Atlantic Division
Kermit Carlson, W9XA, Central Division
Matt Holden, KØBBC, Dakota Division
David Norris, K5UZ, Delta Division
Dale Williams, WA8EFK, Great Lakes Division
Mike Lisenco, N2YBB, Hudson Division
Rod Blocksome, KØDAS, Midwest Division
Tom Frenaye, K1KI, New England Division
Jim Pace, K7CEX, Northwestern Division
Jim Tiemstra, K6JAT, Pacific Division
James Boehner, N2ZZ, Roanoke Division
Dwayne Allen, WY7FD, Rocky Mountain Division
Greg Sarratt, W4OZK, Southeastern Division
Dick Norton, N6AA, Southwestern Division
David Woolweaver, K5RAV, West Gulf Division

Also present without vote were Greg Widin, KØGW, First Vice President; Bob Vallio, W6RGG; Second Vice President; International Affairs Vice President Jay Bellows, KØQB; Frederick Niswander, K7GM, Treasurer; Barry J. Shelley, N1VXY, Chief Executive Officer and Secretary; Chief Financial Officer Diane Middleton, W2DLM and General Counsel Christopher D. Imlay, W3KD. Regulatory Information Manager Daniel Henderson, N1ND was present as Assistant Secretary.

The following Vice Directors were also present during the Webinar: Riley Hollingsworth, K4ZDH, Atlantic Division; Carl Luetzelschwab, K9LA, Central Division; Lynn Nelson WØND, Dakota Division; Ed Hudgens, WB4RHQ, Delta Division; Thomas Delaney, W8WTD, Great Lakes Division; Bill Hudzik, W2UDT, Hudson Division; Art Zygielbaum, KØAIZ, Vice-Director Midwest Division; Bonnie Altus, AB7ZQ, Northwestern Division; Kristen McIntyre, K6WX, Pacific Division; Bill Morine, N2COP, Roanoke Division; Jeff Ryan KØRM, Rocky Mountain Division; Ned Stearns

AA7A Southwestern Division; and John Robert Stratton, N5AUS, West Gulf Division. Vice-Directors Mike Raisbeck, K1TWF, New England Division and Joseph Tiritilli, N4ZUW, Southeastern Division were unable to attend.

2. Mr. Niswander moved, and Mr. Pace seconded, that the Board elect Dr. Howard E. Michel, WB2ITX, as Chief Executive Officer effective October 15, 2018. Mr. Niswander outlined key elements of the contract. Each Director was accorded the right to ask questions and offer comments alphabetically by Division name.

Mr. Tiemstra moved, seconded by Mr. Frenaye, to postpone consideration of the motion until November 29, 2018. After discussion the motion failed by a vote of 7 Aye and 8 Nay.

Discussion returned to the main motion. A rollcall vote being requested, the motion was adopted 9 to 6 with Mr. Carlson, Holden, Norris, Williams, Lisenco, Blocksome, Pace, Boehner, and Allen voting Aye and Mr. Abernethy, Frenaye, Tiemstra, Sarratt, Norton and Woolweaver voting Nay.

3. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:18 PM by President Roderick. Time in session: 1 hour 14 minutes.

Daniel Henderson, N1ND Assistant Secretary